Why should I not use FTP to upload my Web site if I am using FrontPage?
If you are using FrontPage to build your Web site and you upload or delete
content using FTP, you are bypassing the management that FrontPage performs
for your Web site. This can potentially break your site.
FrontPage manages the special permissions on your directory. These
permissions must be added to the directories in your account. Write
permissions, if necessary, are also handled by FrontPage. If you upload
using FTP, these permissions may not be applied correctly.
There are also several hidden, internal directories in a FrontPage site,
which contain meta data, that describe how the site is constructed. Some
pages within the site rely on this meta data to render the pages correctly.
When you upload the data using FTP, this meta data doesn't get updated and
your site will no longer work properly.
Return to Articles Home
Save time and secure your web designs with Edit Blocks. Let your clients edit their own sites.
Quick Domain Search